23:43 (GMT +7) - Saturday 28/11/2020


Toyota received 8 awards by ASEAN NCAP Grand Prix 2016

Released at: 17:00, 01/12/2016

Toyota received 8 awards by ASEAN NCAP Grand Prix 2016

Photo: Toyota

Toyota awarded for excellent safety standards and technologies.

by Huyen Thanh

The New Car Assessment Programme for Southeast Asian Countries (ASEAN NCAP) held its second bi-annual awards ceremony, the ASEAN NCAP Grand Prix 2016, at Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia. The ASEAN NCAP Grand Prix commemorates the achievement of the cars involved in ASEAN NCAP assessment in the last two years.

The awards consist of three main pillars: best occupant-protection, best safety technology, and special awards given to vehicles/companies which contributed to enhancing safety in the region.

Toyota won six awards for best occupant-protection awards, which is judged based on frontal and side crash tests conducted by ASEAN NCAP on vehicles fitted with crash test dummies of different sizes to represent adult and child occupants. In the crash test, the damage sustained by the vehicle and the crash test dummies are carefully assessed and quantified.

This is developed into a numerical score. Based on the scores, the awards are provided for adult occupant protection (AOP) and child occupant protection (COP) to the vehicle with highest scores.

The six awards for best occupant protection are: Toyota Sienta - Best AOP for MPV category; Toyota Agya - Best AOP for mini car category and Best COP mini car category; Toyota Innova - Best COP for MPV category; Toyota Rush - Best COP for SUV category; and Toyota Hilux - Best COP for pickup category.

Toyota was also presented with an award for its safety technology, Toyota’s Blind Spot Monitor, which was recognized for its significant technology to avoid accidents by alerting drivers to oncoming vehicles that may be in their blind spots.

Additionally, Toyota received a special recognition award for its efforts at improving safety standards in the region, namely the “Rising Star Recognition”for the Corolla. Toyota was recognized for its efforts, in which the carmaker made the Corolla standardized with Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and seven-airbags for all grades, in all ASEAN countries, from November 2016 onwards.

The awards for safety technology and special recognition are: blind spot monitor - safety technology award (car manufacturer) and Toyota Corolla - “rising star recognition”.

Apart from awards, Toyota has received AOP five-star ratings for three models sold in Southeast Asia, which are the Hilux, Innova and Sienta, tested between 2015 and 2016.

User comment (0)

Send comment