09:09 (GMT +7) - Thursday 08/12/2016

Vietnam Today

Changes suggested for longer holidays

Released at: 11:22, 14/11/2014

Changes suggested for longer holidays

MoLISA has recommended workers be able to change working days to give them longer breaks around upcoming national holidays for Western New Year, Tet, and Liberation Day / May Day.

Opinions from State agencies' regarding the draft plan of the government on the Western New Year and Lunar New Year (Tet) holidays have been collected by the Ministry of Labor, Invalids and Social Affairs.

The Ministry has recommended that workers be given Friday January 2 as a holiday in exchange for working on Saturday December 27, which would give them four consecutive days off, from January 1 to January 4.

For the Tet holiday, meanwhile, the Ministry suggests workers be able to work on Saturday February 14 in exchange for having Monday February 16 as a holiday. This would mean an extended Tet break, from Sunday February 15 to Monday February 23.

Next year the national holiday for the Hung King’s Festival falls on Tuesday April 28 (March 10 on the lunar calendar), while Liberation Day and International Labor Day fall, as always, on Thursday April 30 and Friday May 1, respectively. To give workers an extended break of eight days, the Ministry has suggested they be able to work on Saturday April 25 in exchange for Monday April 27 and on Saturday May 9 in exchange for Wednesday April 29.

These are only recommendations from the Ministry, with all organizations being free to adopt a suitable holiday timetable.

A similar change in holidays was approved by the Prime Minister in 2010, giving workers nine days off for Tet.

Minh Tuyết
Source:

  • TAGS
  • Lunar New Year
  • Holiday
  • Ministry of Labour - Invalids and Social Affairs
  • 9 days off

User comment (0)

Send comment