17:51 (GMT +7) - Monday 10/12/2018

Vietnam Today

New government in focus

Released at: 19:43, 28/07/2016

New government in focus

Photo: VGP

There are some significant changes to the government structure for the 2016-2021 term, approved by the 14th NA on July 28.

by Nguyen Ha

While the number of Deputy Prime Ministers remains unchanged at five in the new government for the 2016-2021 term, three of the five are Politburo members, one more than in the last 2011-2016 term led by former PM Nguyen Tan Dung.

There are six Politburo members in the new government: Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc, Deputy PM Truong Hoa Binh, Deputy PM Pham Binh Minh, Deputy PM Vuong Dinh Hue, Minister of National Defense Ngo Xuan Lich, and Minister of Public Security To Lam.

This is the also first time in many years that there is a minister who is not member of the Party Central Committee: Minister of Health Nguyen Thi Kim Tien, who was re-elected after serving in the previous term.

Ms. Tien was not voted into the Party Central Committee, 12th Tenure, at the Party Congress in January but was a member of the Committee in the 11th Tenure.

She is also the only female minister in the government for the 2016-2021 term, down from two in the previous term.

Most Deputy PMs and ministers received high votes in favor from delegates in the 14th National Assembly (NA), with the highest being over 97 per cent. Deputy PM and Minister of Foreign Affairs Pham Binh Minh received 97.77 per cent of votes, Minister and Chairman of the Committee for Ethnic Affairs Do Van Chien received 97.57 per cent, Minister of National Defense Ngo Xuan Lich received 96.56 per cent and Deputy PM Vuong Dinh Hue received 96.36 per cent.

The lowest was 80.97 per cent, for Minister of Labor, Invalids and Social Affairs Dao Ngoc Dung. Mr. Dung received just over 60 per cent of NA votes when he was first elected into the government for the previous term, last April.

He was followed by Minister of Natural Resources and Environment Tran Hong Ha, who received 83.40 per cent of votes. In April over 85 per cent of delegates voted for Mr. Ha when he was first promoted to the post by the 13th NA.

There is one new face in the government for the 2016-2021 term: Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development Nguyen Xuan Cuong, who replaces Mr. Cao Duc Phat. Mr. Cuong was voted in with 86.64 per cent.

The average age of government members is 56.11, slightly higher than the average in the last term, of 56. PM Nguyen Xuan Phuc and Mr. Ngo Xuan Lich, Minister of National Defense, are both 62.

Meanwhile, Governor of State Bank of Vietnam Le Minh Hung is the youngest, at 46. The remainder are mostly in their 50s.

In terms of educational qualifications, there are 14 Doctorate holders, eight Masters and five Bachelors among the 27 government members.

User comment (0)

Send comment