15:38 (GMT +7) - Saturday 24/10/2020

Vietnam Today

PM hosts 10th CLV Summit

Released at: 19:05, 31/03/2018

PM hosts 10th CLV Summit

Photo: VNA

CLV development triangle includes border provinces in Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia and has boosted local development.

by Long Van

The 10th Cambodia-Laos-Vietnam Summit on Development Triangle Area (CLV-10) took place in Hanoi on March 31, the Vietnam News Agency reports.

Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc, Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Sen, Lao Prime Minister Thongloun Sisoulith, President of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) Takehiko Nakao, Managing Director of the World Bank (WB) Joanquim Levy, and the ASEAN Secretary-General Lim Jock Hoi were in attendance.

Prime Minister Phuc said the three countries have carried out special cooperation programs focusing on socioeconomic development in the development triangle, which covers 13 border provinces.

The trio have reaped positive cooperation outcomes, from security and politics to economy, trade and education, narrowing development gaps among localities, he said.

Vietnamese businesses have invested in 113 projects worth $3.59 billion in the Lao and Cambodian provinces within the development triangle, he noted, and the five Vietnamese provinces have attracted 233 projects from 20 countries and territories with total registered capital of $2.3 billion.

He attributed the outcomes to the endeavors of the three countries as well as the valuable support from ASEAN and development partners, especially the ADB and WB.

CLV-10 discussed new policies to boost regional cooperation in a more effective and pragmatic manner.

The success of the meeting will contribute significantly to the realization of the ASEAN Community Vision through 2025, Prime Minster told the gathering.

The CLV Development Triangle Area was established in 1999 and initially included Kon Tum, Gia Lai, Dak Lak, and Dak Nong provinces in Vietnam, Sekong, Attapeu and Saravan provinces in Laos, and Stung Treng, Rattanak Kiri, and Mondul Kiri provinces in Cambodia.

In 2009, the three countries agreed to add Vietnam’s Binh Phuoc province, Cambodia’s Kratie province, and Lao’s Champasak province to the area. Cooperation focuses on the fields of security, external affairs, transport, industry, agriculture, trade, investment, and environmental protection.

User comment (0)

Send comment