01:25 (GMT +7) - Monday 22/10/2018

Vietnam Today

Visas waived for seven more countries

Released at: 22:40, 03/01/2015

Visas waived for seven more countries

Waiver for visits of 15 days or less to citizens from seven countries.

by Nguyen Quynh

Citizens from Russia, Japan, South Korea, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, and Finland are to be exempt from visas for stays of 15 days or less under Resolution No.99/NQ-CP issued by the government on December 29. Vietnam will accept all types of passports and purposes of entry as long as visitors stay within Vietnamese law.

The regulation will take effect from January 1, 2015 to December 31, 2019 and may be extended beyond this five-year period.

Vietnam already waives visas for 30-day stays for visitors from ASEAN countries, except Brunei, which has a 14-day limit. Industry experts said that the new waiver policy will contribute to the development of the country’s tourism sector.  

Vietnam welcomed a total of 7.87 million foreign tourists during 2014, up 4 per cent compared with 2013, according to the Vietnam National Administration of Tourism.

User comment (0)

Send comment